Posted on: Sat, 10/29/2016 - 15:35 By: arcuser
On 19-23 November 2012 delegates from 41 African Union Member States convened a Conference of Plenipotentiaries in Pretoria, South Africa to finalize the African Risk Capacity (ARC) Establishment Agreement.  On the final day of the conference, 18 member states signed the Establishment Agreement, creating the ARC Agency as a Specialized Agency of the African Union. 15 additional countries signed the treaty at a later stage. The signatories make up the Conference of the Parties (CoP), the supreme governing body of the ARC Agency that perform policy and quasi-governmental functions, such as:
  • providing overall strategic and governance guidance
  • approving and monitoring contingency planning
  • monitoring and evaluation
  • setting the overall policy direction for ARC.

ARC Establishment Agreement





The ARC Agency Secretariat is currently providing legal support for member states to ratify the Establishment Agreement in their respective capitals.

How to Sign the Establishment Agreement

The AU Commission acts as the depository of the Establishment Agreement, which is available for signature in the Office of the Legal Counsel. The Establishment Agreement may be signed at the Commission in Addis Ababa or at AU Summits by heads of state or government, ministers of foreign affairs, or delegates bearing credentials signed by one of the aforementioned officials. Mr Adewale Iyanda, AU Senior Legal Officer, can be contacted by email should there be any questions about the signing process.


------- Original Signatories (23 November 2012) --------
Burkina Faso Burundi Central African Republic Chad Republic of Congo Djibouti The Gambia Guinea Liberia Libya Malawi Mozambique Niger Rwanda Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic Senegal Togo Zimbabwe ARC Member States
-------- Additional Signatories (date signed) ----------
  1. Kenya (28 January 2013)
  2. Mauritania (28 January 2013)
  3. Côte d'Ivoire (6 February 2013)
  4. Comoros (15 February 2013)
  5. Gabon (30 January 2014)
  6. Madagascar (31 January 2014)
  7. Benin (27 June 2014)
  8. Nigeria (4 December 2014)
  9. Mali (27 May 2015)
  10. Ghana (28 January 2016)
  11. Guinea Bissau (29 January 2016)
  12. Sao Tome and Principe (29 January 2016)
  13. Sierra Leone (29 January 2016)
  14. Zambia (29 January 2016)
  15. Sudan (26 January 2018)